Soliciting Feedback

Standard

Today’s post has a soundtrack. So I am one of those on the cusp Gen X/Gen Y people. What I hhave in common with Gen Y. I want feedback. And well expect feedback. Blogging is a great way to solicit feedback. You post, people comment.

So why is it so hard to get feedback from prospects on the sales process? I quiz my sales team all the time to find out what they are hearing in the field. Remarkably, only a handful of prospects ever explain why they went with another choice.

It might be too many dealings with old-school sales people.  You know, the people who were offended you didn’t by from them.  And they either come back with a counteroffer to address your concerns or decide to badmouth your choice and yell at you for choosing someone else.

Shoppers: I understand why you don’t necessarily want to give feedback to your salesperson, how would you feel comfortable providing feedback after the process?  Are you invested enough to respond to a web survey?  Would you really answer a phone call from customer service?

Do we need Yelp for B2B products?

2 thoughts on “Soliciting Feedback

  1. If prospects won’t respond to sales people with feedback, to me that’s sort of understandable.. particularly if the sales person was somewhat successful in building a relationship with the prospect. There may be a feeling of guilt at taking up so much of the sales persons time, then choosing another provider. Especially if it’s clear that there’s a commission at stake.. the prospect feels they just hurt the sale reps paycheck.

    But it seems to me that after a few days, a prospect should respond to a well-worded inquiry from marketing or a sales manager. A survey, a phone call.

    If done properly, the same sense of ‘guilt’ at having chosen a competitor could motivate a prospect to help out their poor, failed sales person by saying ‘Your sales person was great! I really just had to go with the cheaper solution…’ or whatever.

    Just like I do when the car dealer calls me up after service (every single time). ‘Yes, they were great, on time, yep. thanks.’ Normally, I’d never waste a second on that stuff, but I know I’d be selling my mechanic down the river if i didn’t give him his ‘5 stars’.

    Frankly, if a real prospect won’t take 1 minute to answer a couple of no-pressure questions, I’d wonder if there was a relationship built at all. That’s it’s own sort of feedback… (I’m sure my mechanic is graded on how many will/won’t respond to the survey.. he sets me up every time… ‘They’re going to call you…’)

    Have you tried to get feedback yourself, or are you just hoping that the sales reps will do it?

    Landon

  2. Jame

    I haven’t made the effort on my own yet. At this stage I am investigating. Chatting with my team and seeing what they do. I know, personally, I feel I owe it to any relatively good salesperson. I’ll fill them in on the way I went one way or the other. On my own time. I might delay it, depending on how much time I spent with the other person. For example, the one phone call person gets the one sentence email. The 3 hours of interaction person will probably get a book. 😉 (or the person I felt a good bond with will get the book.)

Leave a Reply

