Tweet to Policy

Standard

Between yesterday and this afternoon, I received 10 tweets from Pandora. I just started subscribing to Pandora on twitter earlier this week, and have been amused with posts on stations, events and music.

So Twitter, is one of those microblogging tools. I have been using it haphazardly for the past couple months. My usage has accelerated since one of my good friends started using it. I subscribe to a few interesting feeds, but only a few have crossed over to my phone. Pandora is one of the phone ones.

Back to the 10 tweets. Anyway, as some of you know, there has been of fights to save online radio stations. The royalty fees could possibly become far to expensive for stations to operate. Call it the internet radio surcharge — bill HR 7084 aims to create a friendlier agreement for online stations. On Friday I received a tweet to call my comgress-person since they were voting on this issue on Saturday.

I don’t have a chance to visit my blog reader daily, so I would have missed the posts on this topic. I received the text and there was a hyperlink to the number and instructions. I called on my way home from work, and forwarded the message to a few friends. Through the rest of the evening I saw reminders and updates. I was happy to see this update later that evening:

Believe it, the phone calls make a difference! You can read more on our blog: http://is.gd/3ceF You guys rule. Enjoy your weekend! 🙂 Lucia
This afternoon, after a few reminders this message arrived on my phone:
THE BILL JUST PASSED the House! You guys rule — thanks for your help! Up next: going to the Senate. We’ll keep you informed. Rock on. 🙂
Awesome! Live politics in action. And proof that microblogging can work. I was skeptical, but now I am a believer. I would love to have a local politics twitter feed live from meetings. And of course keep in mind that many *fans* chose to subscribe to the updates. Pandora spoke at the Apple store last week to record clouds, no doubt many were twitter fans.
Microblogging: another way to engage your audience, as long as it is relevant. I’d love to hear about any b2b marketers who made it work for them!
Leave a Reply

