Best Buy still not being transparent ….

Standard

I went to Best Buy, to pick up a couple of little gift for my coworkers.  Flash drives.  Everyone needs those, right?  Well at first I was planning to pick it up at Target, but i decided to check bestbuy.com to see if there were any deals to be had.  Score.  A 3-pack on sale for $17.99.  I checed to see if it was available in store, and it was.  Yeah!

So I went to the computer section of my local best buy, and found the flash drives.  In the locked case the three pack was there.  For $29.99.  Huh?

So I thought I was hallucinating so I rechecked online in one of the computers.  My cheap price was correct.  I found an associate, and explained the situation.  He logged in into the kiosk, and when to the link entitled “In-store Bestbuy.com.”  I was afraid I would get dissed, especially since there was a second link labeled “Bestbuy.com”

But the prices did match.  And the associate started to ring me up.  It required a “competitor override.”  Since when is bestbuy.com a competitor to Best Buy? And ten he completed the override.  It required a manager’s approval.  So I waited.  And waited.  And waiting.  It took 30 minutes to get this simple visit to BBY done.

That’s sad.  I don’t think BBY has learned its lesson after getting sued, and is still being misleading to consumers.  If you don’t do your research first, you may get overcharged.  To the tune of 40%.  😦

Leave a Reply

